New Year’s Eve Make-up: Laid back gold

NYE Makeup

The New Year is right on our doorstep. If you, like me, opt for a (comparatively) quieter New Year’s Eve festivities, then this makeup look may be right up your alley. This is my go-to glam, yet understated look that shouts “I’m here for the party, but not overdoing it!” I especially love this look as it is still house party appropriate whilst still having the glitz and glam that we all love to put on for New Years. This year I will be applying this neutral, gold look that’s comfortable and not too out-there. The gold lining gives the look instant New Year’s Eve glitz, but is paired back by a neutral eye and lip.

NYE make up 2

NYE Make up 3

How to achieve the look:

  1. Prime face with L’Oreal True Match Foundation (Rose Vanilla) foundation and conceal and spots or dark circles with NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer (Vanilla).
  2. To add colour back into the complexion, I lightly contoured with Soap & Glory’s Solar Powder bronzer, using mostly the lighter tone as it fits more naturally with my skin tone. To give my cheeks that rosy tint I applied The Balm’s Frat Boy blush to the apples of my cheeks and swept up towards my temples. To set my base, I swept Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette, specifically a mix of Dim Light and Incandescent Light across my face to give an iridescence and glow.
  3. On to the eyes. I used my much loved Urban Decay Naked Palette, beginning with Naked to prime the eye and add a little colour. I next too Buck into the crease to add depth and further added depth to the outer most corner with Toasted to create a warm, rosy glow.
  4. Now onto the most important part – the gold! I took the eyeshadow Half Baked from the Naked Palette on an angled eye-liner brush and thickly lined my eye with the shadow, flicking up at the end to create a soft cat-eye. I love using eyeshadow to line my eyes as it creates a much softer, and more natural look.
  5. For mascara I chose Urban Decay’s Perversion Mascara, which creates an unbeatably full and soft set of lashes that makes me look like I’m wearing false lashes (without all the fuss and worry of them falling out).
  6. To finish the look I opted for a neutral lip colour, choosing NARS Lip Pencil in Descanso. A neutral lip means that I won’t have to be worrying all evening about whether my lips are still perfect, and instead I can focus on ringing in the New Year in style with my friends.

NYE Make up 4

There you have it: my quick, easy and laid-back take on a New Year’s Eve look. It’s fuss free whilst still having the necessary sparkly to ring in the New Year.

What will you be rocking this New Year?

Happy New Year and may 2015 bring you all kinds of joys and adventures 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Make up

Leave a comment